Connect with us
2022 Gotham Awards Noms

Film Festivals

2022 Gotham Awards Noms: Todd Field’s Tár Takes Centerstage, Aftersun Gets Love Blisters

2022 Gotham Awards Noms: Todd Field’s Tár Takes Centerstage, Aftersun Gets Love Blisters

Aftersun is the tops of the noms garnering Breakthrough Performer, Breakthrough Director, Outstanding Lead Performance and Best Feature. The noms are out and we find Charlotte Wells’ debut with four noms. Clear contenders for this event, the upcoming Indie Spirits and Oscars, Everything Everywhere All at Once (three noms) and Tár (five noms) are likely candidates to walk away with some trophyware. The TIFF-preemed The Inspection got triple acknowledged as well. Notable films with two noms a piece include Jane Schoenbrun‘s We’re All Going to the World’s Fair and Antoneta Alamat Kusijanović‘s Murina. 2022 highlights Saint Omer (Best International feature category), All That Breathes (Best Documentary) and The Cathedral (Best Feature) were also acknowledged. Here are the noms in the film categories. The Gotham Awards are handed out on November 28th.

Best Feature
“The Cathedral”
“Dos Estaciones”
“Everything Everywhere All at Once”

Best Documentary Feature
“All That Breathes”
“All the Beauty and the Bloodshed”
“I Didn’t See You There”
“The Territory”
“What We Leave Behind”

Best International Feature
“The Banshees of Inisherin”
“Decision to Leave”
“Saint Omer”

Outstanding Lead Performance
Cate Blanchett (“Tár”)
Danielle Deadwyler (“Till”)
Dale Dickey (“A Love Song”)
Colin Farrell (“After Yang”)
Brendan Fraser (“The Whale”)
Paul Mescal (“Aftersun”)
Thandiwe Newton (“God’s Country”)
Aubrey Plaza “(Emily the Criminal)”
Taylor Russell (“Bones and All”)
Michelle Yeoh (“Everything Everywhere All At Once”)

Outstanding Supporting Performance
Mark Rylance (“Bones and All”)
Brian Tyree Henry (“Causeway”)
Ke Huy Quan (“Everything Everywhere All at Once”)
Raúl Castillo (“The Inspection”)
Gabrielle Union (“The Inspection”)
Nina Hoss (“Tár”)
Noémie Merlant (“Tár”)
Hong Chau (“The Whale”)

Breakthrough Performer
Frankie Corio (“Aftersun”)
Kali Reis (“Catch the Fair One”)
Gracija Flipovic (“Murina”)
Anna Diop (“Nanny”)
Anna Cobb (“We’re All Going to the World’s Fair”)

Breakthrough Director
Owen Kline (“Funny Pages”)
Elegance Bratton (“The Inspection”)
Antoneta Alamat Kusijanovic (“Murina”)
Beth De Araújo (“Soft & Quiet”)
Jane Schoenbrun (“We’re All Going to the World’s Fair”)

Best Screenplay
Kogonada (“After Yang”)
James Gray (“Armageddon Time”)
Lena Dunham (“Catherine Called Birdy”)
Todd Field (“Tár”)
Sarah Polley (“Women Talking”)

Eric Lavallée is the founder, CEO, editor-in-chief, film journalist and critic at (founded in 2000). Eric is a regular at Sundance, Cannes and TIFF. He has a BFA in Film Studies at the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema. In 2013 he served as a Narrative Competition Jury Member at the SXSW Film Festival. He was an associate producer on Mark Jackson's This Teacher (2018 LA Film Festival, 2018 BFI London). In 2022 he served as a New Flesh Comp for Best First Feature at the 2022 Fantasia Intl. Film Festival. Current top films for 2022 include Tár (Todd Field), All That Breathes (Shaunak Sen), Aftersun (Charlotte Wells).

Click to comment

More in Film Festivals


To Top